How to Watch Godzilla Movies in Order

Godzilla, the iconic kaiju, has been a staple of pop culture since it first emerged from the depths of the ocean in the 1954 Japanese film “Gojira.” Over the years, this monstrous symbol of nuclear anxieties has evolved into a beloved antihero, starring in numerous films across various eras. For fans looking to experience the full scope of Godzilla’s cinematic journey, watching the movies in order can be a thrilling and rewarding endeavor.

The Showa Era (1954-1975)

The Showa era marks the beginning of the Godzilla franchise and includes the films produced by Toho Co., Ltd. from 1954 to 1975. To watch the Godzilla movies in order from this period, start with the original “Gojira” (1954), which introduces audiences to the destructive force of Godzilla. This is followed by “Godzilla Raids Again” (1955) and continues through to “Terror of Mechagodzilla” (1975), which was the last film of the era. These films are characterized by their use of practical effects, suitmation, and a focus on Godzilla as a metaphor for nuclear destruction.

The Heisei Era (1984-1995)

After a nine-year hiatus, Godzilla returned in the Heisei era, which is marked by a continuity reboot, ignoring all previous sequels to the original 1954 film. Start with “The Return of Godzilla” (1984), also known as “Godzilla 1985” in its North American release. This era includes seven films, concluding with “Godzilla vs. Destoroyah” (1995). The Heisei series features a more consistent storyline, with recurring characters and a Godzilla that evolves, both in terms of character and design.

The Millennium Era (1999-2004)

The Millennium series is unique in that most of the films are standalone stories and do not share continuity, with the exception of “Godzilla Against Mechagodzilla” (2002) and “Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S.” (2003), which are direct sequels. Begin with “Godzilla 2000: Millennium” (1999) and proceed through to “Godzilla: Final Wars” (2004), which commemorated the 50th anniversary of the franchise. This era is known for its diverse range of styles and interpretations of Godzilla.

The Reiwa Era and Beyond (2016-Present)

The Reiwa era began with “Shin Godzilla” (2016), a film that reimagines Godzilla’s origins in modern-day Japan. Following this, Toho launched an animated trilogy starting with “Godzilla: Planet of the Monsters” (2017) and ending with “Godzilla: The Planet Eater” (2018). In addition to Toho’s productions, Legendary Pictures’ MonsterVerse has also contributed to the Reiwa era with films like “Godzilla” (2014), “Godzilla: King of the Monsters” (2019), and “Godzilla vs. Kong” (2021). The upcoming “Godzilla x Kong: The New Empire” (2024) will continue the MonsterVerse saga. To stay current with Godzilla’s adventures, watch these films as they are released.


Godzilla’s filmography is vast and varied, reflecting the changes in the world and the film industry over the past several decades. Whether you’re a new fan or a kaiju aficionado, watching the Godzilla movies in order provides a deeper understanding of this cinematic icon’s evolution. From the haunting allegories of the Showa era to the modern spectacles of the Reiwa era, Godzilla’s legacy continues to grow, ensuring that the King of the Monsters reigns supreme for years to come.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply