Table of Contents Hide
Auto insurance is an important safety net to have no matter how often you’re on the road or the type of car you drive. Whether you’re in Miami or Jacksonville, Orlando, or Tampa, you want to have the right insurance for your needs that won’t break the bank. However, there are a few things you need to remember when exploring auto insurance policies throughout Florida to make sure that your coverage is worthwhile and meets what’s required statewide.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
When exploring monthly premiums through insurance providers, you want to make sure that you are getting the policy you need. Exploring quotes starts with checking Florida car insurance rates by ZIP code to understand the initial risk as it’s viewed by insurance companies. There are minimum car insurance requirements in the state of Florida of $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage. PIP covers lost wages, in-house care, and equipment if you’re injured in an accident. It will also help pay funeral costs if necessary.
It’s important to keep in mind that Florida is a no-fault law state. This requires anyone who owns or has registered a vehicle to have car insurance coverage of at least $10,000 for an individual’s bodily injury, $20,000 for injury to multiple persons, $10,000 for property damage, and a $30,000 minimum per car accident. Residents of the Sunshine State must be able to present acceptable forms of financial responsibility should they be involved in different circumstances, including crashes and traffic violations.
Other Types of Insurance
While it’s not required by law, there is additional coverage provided through car insurance companies across the state of Florida. For example, collision insurance pays for repairs to your car in the event that it collides with another vehicle or crashes into another object. This does not cover injuries suffered in that wreck. Comprehensive auto insurance coverage pays for losses from incidents other than a collision, such as theft, vandalism, or windshield replacement. In fact, Florida law requires a waiver to encourage drivers to immediately replace damaged windshields. Depending on who is financing your vehicle, you may be legally required to purchase these above policies.
Uninsured motorist insurance pays if you, your passengers, or your family members are hit by someone who is “at fault” and doesn’t have insurance. This applies in situations like a hit-and-run to pay for medical expenses or lost wages brought on by injuries suffered in the accident. Medical payment insurance is the best way to ensure that medical expenses are covered beyond PIP coverage. Rental reimbursement coverage will permit you to be reimbursed for a rental after a car accident. If you have collision coverage or property damage liability, you may be covered for damage to a rental that you are using as a temporary ride until repairs are made to your car.
What Impacts Insurance Rates?
Premiums for any Florida car insurance policy can be impacted by the amount of coverage you purchase, the type of motor vehicle you drive, and even your age. Teens and the elderly are considered high-risk drivers due to lack of experience and limited functionality, respectively. As a result, car insurance providers tend to raise premiums to accommodate the risk. However, they will offer a variety of discounts to curb the monthly bill. Good grades in the classroom can translate to savings for teens, while defensive driving courses can offer a discount for older drivers.
Savings and rebates are available across the Sunshine State, reducing your average annual rate while providing you with peace of mind behind the wheel. Bundling other insurance policies under one insurer can lead to discounts, and you also might be able to score savings with a policy through your employer. Don’t hesitate to explore the options that are out there to fit your needs.