Prince George’s County Motor Vehicle Administration – New Or Out-Of-State Drivers

Every one of all ages, seeking to obtain a Maryland driver’s license must complete the Graduated Licensing System (GLS) or Rookie Driver Program. This includes new drivers and those transferring a current out-of-state driver’s license, which must be completed within 60 days of relocation. If you have been a licensed driver for 18 months or longer, you can apply for a regular driver’s license. Only a provisional driver’s license is available to applicants, who have been a licensed driver less than 18 months. Everyone must apply in person at one of the local DVA offices (see below for more information).

 

Prince George's County, Maryland DVA

 

Services That Require An Appointment

Appointments are required for:

  • Driver Skills Test (Commercial and Non-commercial)
  • HAZMAT Endorsements
  • Law Test Re-Tests
  • Identification Card Applications
  • Permit Applications
  • First-Time Driver’s License Application

Immigrants (Non-U.S. Citizens) applying for one of the above services must make an appointment. You can schedule an appointment online (see below for link) for all the above services except for the Commercial Driver’s License skills test (CDL). On-site appointments are accepted at DVA branch offices, where service is offered. The appointment must be made at the same location, where the test will be administered.

Expired Maryland or out-of-state driver’s license (1-year or more) must complete and pass knowledge test, vision screening, and skills test. Practice tests are available online at the official DMV website.

First-Time Provisional Driver License Requirements

  • Must obtain and hold a GLS Learner’s Permit for at least 9 months (Under 25 years of age)
  • Must obtain and hold a GLS Learner’s Permit for at least 45 days (25 years of age and older)
  • No prior moving violation convictions
  • Anyone given a Probation Before Judgments (PBJs) will have an extended 9-month holding period
  • Must pass a vision exam
  • Must be a resident of Maryland
  • Be at least 16 ½ years of age

If you are unsuccessful in passing the test on your 1st or 2nd attempt, a 7-day waiting period will be required between each subsequent test. When you have successfully held your provisional driver’s license for 18 months, you will be able to renew and receive your unrestricted Maryland driver’s license.

Provisional Driver’s License Restrictions

Drivers under the age of 18 will only be able to drive, without supervision between the hours of 5am to 12am. If a licensed driver 21 years of age supervises you on your driving excursion, you will be authorized to drive between the hours of 12am to 5am. Once you receive your provisional driver’s license, you will not be able to transport passengers under the age of 18 for the first 151 days, unless a supervising licensed driver accompanies you.

Acceptable Identity And Age Verification Documents:

  • S. Passport
  • S. Birth Certificate
  • CRBA or Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • EAD or Current Employment Authorization Document
  • Current Foreign Passport, with USCIS Documentation
  • Current Foreign Passport, without USCIS Documentation
  • Current Consular ID Card

Acceptable Proof Of Social Security Number (SSN):

  • Social Security Card
  • Current W-2 Form
  • Current SSA-1099 or Non-SSA-1099 Form
  • Most Recent Pay Check Stub (must contain full SSN, no older than 3 months)
  • Document from SSA, demonstrating non-work status

Acceptable Maryland Residential Address Verification Documents: (2 Items Required)

  • Maryland Vehicle Registration (title or card)
  • Utility or Major Credit Card Bill
  • Financial Statement (checking or savings account)
  • Life Insurance Policy (must be over 3 years old)
  • Property Tax Bill or Receipt
  • Mortgage Document
  • Rental Agreement
  • State, Federal, or Local Government First Class Mail
  • Copy of Maryland Tax Return
  • Financial Installment Contract
  • Business License
  • Voter Registration or Selective Service Card
  • DL-202 Form Signed by Parent, Legal Guardian or Spouse (document verifying applicant is a dependent is also required in this case)
  • Order of Parole or Order of Mandatory Release (must be dated with 60 days of release)

Beltsville Community (Full Service)

11760 Baltimore Avenue
Beltsville, Maryland 20705
(410) 768-7000
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30pm and Sat 8:30am-12pm

Largo Community (Full Service)

10251 Central Avenue
Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772
(410) 768-7000
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30am-4:30am and Sat 8:30am-12pm

MVA online scheduling: https://mvascheduling.mdot.state.md.us/default.aspx

This entry was posted in General Information and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.