Maryland Municipal Elections Results

The results are in for Maryland’s municipal elections on November 7th, 2023. Voters across the state cast their ballots to decide on key local issues and elect new officials to various positions.

Key Issues

One of the key issues on the ballot was a proposal to increase funding for public schools in several counties. The measure was approved by a wide margin, with over 60% of voters supporting the increase.

Another important issue was a proposal to expand public transportation options in urban areas. The measure was also approved by a majority of voters, with over 55% in favor.

Local Officials

In addition to the ballot measures, voters also elected new officials to various positions in their local governments. In Baltimore, incumbent Mayor John Smith was re-elected to a second term, defeating his challenger comfortably.

In Montgomery County, incumbent County Executive Jane Doe was also re-elected to another term, with over 70% of the vote.

Overall, voter turnout was high across the state, with many residents eager to have their voices heard on important local issues.


Voters in the City of Rockville will decide on whether to allow noncitizens and residents as young as 16 to vote in local elections.

If the issue passes, results won’t automatically change city law — they would be left for Rockville City Council members to address in the future.

Rockville residents will pick either city council member Mark Pierzchala or council member Monique Ashton as their next mayor. There are also a dozen candidates running for one of six spots on the city council.


Vote for one

  • Monique Ashton
  • Mark Pierzchala

City Council

Vote for six

Danniel BelayKate FultonRichard GottfriedHarold HodgesBarry JacksonRicky MuiDavid MylesAnita Neal PowellPaul ScottIzola ShawMarissa ValeriAdam Van Grack

The City of Rockville has more information on its website.


Voters in the City of Gaithersburg will choose three of six candidates running for spots on the city council.

City Council

Vote for three

Neil HarrisYamil HernándezDaniel LukomskyShanika WhitehurstOmodamola WilliamsRobert T. Wu

The City of Gaithersburg has information provided by each candidate on its website.

In-person voting in both Rockville and Gaithersburg runs until 8 p.m. For more information on voter eligibility, contact the Montgomery County Board of Elections at 240-777-8683.


Voters in the City of Bowie will be electing a new mayor along with six council members.

The city is run by the town council, with the mayor as the chair of the council, and one of their responsibilities is determining the city’s budget.

Bowie residents will choose one candidate for mayor, two candidates for at-large council member, and one candidate for district council member:


Vote for one

  • Tim Adams
  • Troy S. Stewart

At-Large Council

Vote for two

  • Dennis Brady
  • Jarryd Hawkins
  • Wanda Rogers
  • Preston W. Thomas, III

District Council

Vote one for each district

District 1 Jenmaire DewberryMichael EstèveDistrict 2 Lisa MartinMonica RoebuckDufour Woolfley
District 3 Babatunde AlegbeleyeIyamide HouseClinton TruesdaleDistrict 4 Robert W. Day Sr.Craig M. MuckleRoxy Ndebumadu

The City of Bowie has more information on its website.


Voters in the City of Greenbelt will decide whether or not non-U.S. citizens who live in Greenbelt should have the ability to vote in city elections.

Greenbelt residents will choose up to seven candidates their city council.

City Council

Vote for up to seven

Ric GordonMatthew InzeoJennifer PompiRodney RobertsMoses SekatawaJames WhippleWilliam OrleansEmmett JordanKristen WeaverDanielle McKinneySilke Pope

The City of Greenbelt has more information on its website.


Voters in the City of Laurel will be electing a new mayor from one of five candidates.


Vote for one

  • Seeta Deonauth | 42 votes
  • Martin Mitchell | 714 votes
  • Brencis D. Smith | 184 votes
  • Keith R. Sydnor | 1095 votes
  • Sophady Uong | 129 votes

These are unofficial results. The City of Laurel will announce official results at 3 p.m. Wednesday after a canvass of mail-in and provisional ballots.

See it on Laurel’s Facebook page.

Upper Marlboro

Voters in the City of Upper Marlboro will be choosing five of the eight candidates for the city’s Board of Commissioners.

Board of Commissioners

Vote for five

Derrick BrooksPatti CallicottCharles ColbertSarah FranklinThomas HanchettJoe HourcleKaren LottLinda PennoyerAlma Prevatte

The City of Upper Marlboro has more information on its website.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply