How do I get married in Prince George’s County, MD?

Marriage is a beautiful phase in the life of an individual. To make it further memorable, the captivating Maryland state offers scenic beauty. After all, marriage is a union of not just “two people” but actually “two souls” who become ‘one’ for the rest of their lives. It is such a special occasion that it is permanently etched in the memory. Considering how special this occasion is, there are specific prevailing laws one needs to undergo to make it memorable and elegant with no eleventh-hour hiccups. 

What are the rules for marriage in Maryland?

As you are looking to get married in Maryland, you should be aware of the prevailing marriage rules. You may be living anywhere in the state, but when it comes to obtaining the marriage license, you can bring in it at the County Circuit Court where you plan to get married. 

If you have attained 18 years of age, you don’t have to take the consent of your parents to get married. However, if you are 17, you may get married based on the physician’s proof or parental consent that one member is pregnant or has a child. At the same time, a 16-year-old has to get permission to get married. Since this is such an important decision in your life, proper legal formalities must be followed. Anyone below 15 can’t match. 

Non-Resident Application

Suppose both the parties are non-residents; that is, they don’t reside in the county where the marriage ceremony is to be initiated. In that case, there is a specific provision as per Maryland Law. So what’s that? The procedure for a marriage license can be obtained through the mail in the following manner.

Get the Non-Resident Marriage License Application-Affidavit form. Go to the concerned official belonging to the Clerk of Court of your county and fill out the state with the guidance. Make sure that the official does the signature at the appropriate place. Now it is time for you to mail the form with a money order or cashier’s check with a specific amount. So, where is it payable? 

It is payable to the Clerk of Court and the Clerk of Circuit Court for the Maryland county based on your decision to initiate and plan your marriage. Make sure you follow such a simple process in time and save yourself from headaches later. 

Waiting Period

There is a 48 hours waiting period for the license that is issued. It is effective on the second calendar day from 6:am. So, what’s the maximum period for the permit?

  • Well, a license has a tenure of 6 months. Because there is a difference in fees in different counties, you need to contact the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office in the county where you are planning to get married. 
  • One of the parties must also appear while applying for the marriage license. However, there is an exception for Non-Resident Marriage Application where if you marry outside Somerset County, both parties need to appear. 
  • The parties need to give their identification as a driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport.
  • Fees to be paid in cash only amounts to $25:00
  • Maryland doesn’t require a blood test or witnesses.

Considering another set of formalities, the following information of Bride and Groom is to be provided:-

  • The complete names
  • Age
  • State/Country of Birth
  • Address
  • Social Security number that is equally compulsory

The State Law requires the information to keep a record of itself, and no such information will be displayed in the marriage license.

There are additional details to be furnished for the ones who are married previously:-

  • In case of divorce, a copy of the divorce decree
  • In case of death of a spouse: Complete information about the time in terms of the date, month, and year when the death occurred. The country and state where the death occurred must also be provided. 
  • The applicant(s) has to sign the application under oath, thus authenticating the information under penalty of jury.

Do you have to be a resident to get married in Maryland?

There is no specific parameter, as the couple may be residing anywhere. So, one doesn’t need to be a resident to marry in Maryland. 

Can you get married the same day you get your marriage license in Maryland?

The permission granted for marriage starts on the second calendar day at 6 a.m. after the license issuance. 

What is the waiting period to get married in Maryland?

There is a waiting period of 48 hours 

How much does it cost to get married in MD?

The license fee for marriage is $35.00. However, talking about civil ceremonies that a judge performs, clerk of court, etc, then there is an additional charge in the form of $25.00. The applicants need to undergo photo identification.

Who can marry you in Maryland?

Marriage is such a beautiful phase in life. Making it worth memorable and priceless is the importance of ceremonies that an official of a religious clerk can undertake. The county administrative circuit court judge authorizes this position. As per Maryland’s prevailing rules and laws, the celebrants aren’t licensed or directed to register with the state while imparting their service. 

Can you marry two people in Maryland?

Maryland law does not entertain bigamy. So, one can’t marry two people here. 

Final Thoughts

You are unique, and your timely paperwork can make the occasion special and memorable. So, make the time of marriage ceremony a pleasant experience that you will happily remember for the rest of your life. So, be truthful and honest to the authorities in Maryland who are out there to guide you through the process. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply